Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Since the inception of the Department in 1967 in Postgraduate Center attached to Andhra University, the Department is engaged in the front line research. From the beginning the Department struggled to fabricate the indigenous equipment pertaining to nuclear quadrupole resonance spectroscopy, dielectrics and liquid crystals. In 1976, the PG center was upgraded as independent University named as Nagarjuna University the faculty included eminence Professors like Prof.D.Premaswarup M.Sc., Ph.D.D.Phil.(Oxon), Prof. C.R.K.Murty who was responsible for pioneering research work in Liquid Crystals and Solar Energy, Prof. C.Haranadh, Prof.S.V.Krishna Rao, Prof. P.Venkatacharyulu, Prof. G.Satynandam, Prof. V.G.K.M. Pisipati, Prof. M.Rangacharulu and Prof. P.Narayana Murty who did commendable work in the areas of Ferro electric Liquid Crystals ,Glass Science and Radiation Physics.

The existing faculty members Prof.S.Sreehari Sastry, Prof.D.Krishna Rao, Dr.RVSSN Ravikumar, Dr.M.RamiReddy, Dr.Sandhya Cole, Dr.Ch.Linga Raju have also been carrying the research work effectively in the fields, like, Liquid Crystals ,Glass Science, Solid State Spectroscopy and polymers etc.

Facilities Available:
Several sophisticated instruments like LF impedance analyzer(HP), UV-VIS-NIR spectrophotometer(Jasco make), Abbe refractometer(Atago), High temperature furnace etc. needed for Research work in liquid crystals, glass science, Condensed Matter Physics under UGC-DRS scheme are available in the department.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course