Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Chemistry


The Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1963. The department offers two years M. Sc.

course with four specializations at the M. Sc. Part-II level. Recently, one year M. Phil. Course has been restarted by the department. The post-graduate students in Chemistry are encouraged to carry out research work leading to the award of Ph. D. of Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University.
The department has presently 13 sanctioned teaching staff comprising of three Professors, five Readers and five Lecturers. However, due to the superannuation of some faculty members, the present strength is reduced to five (two Readers and three Lecturers). Several research projects have been awarded to the faculty members by various agencies for carrying out research work in various fields in Chemistry. Under these schemes, various instruments have been received by the department for the benefit of teachers and students. Recently, an amount of Rupees Twenty four lakhs has been received by the department under FIST programme of DST. An equal amount has also been received from UGC under Xth five year plan.
The department is housed in an area of about 27000 sq. ft. including laboratory area of about 15650 sq. ft. The departmental library has been well maintained and there are about 1972 books in the library.

Department of Chemistry
Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University
Ravindra Nath Tagore Marg,
Nagpur-440001, Maharashtra(India)
Contact Number: 09822564859
Email id: [email protected]


Stay connected with us on

Follow Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course