Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Physics


The Department came into existence in 1963 along with other Science Departments for imparting post-graduate education (M. Sc. Degree) and for promoting research. In its initial days, Prof. P. L. Khare and Prof. C. Mande nurtured the department. Prof. C. Mande was a fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences and of National Academy of Sciences. He produced several Ph. D. students including P. C. Deshmukh (ex-Head, Dept. of Physics, IIT(Chennai)), A. V. Pimple (UGC-DAE CSR), A. S. Nigavekar (former chairman UGC, ex- VC Pune University). We continued to get an outstanding leadership. Prof. Rajagopan and Prof. Sapre who also served as head of department were Fullbright fellows.

Courses offered

=> M.Sc. Physics
=> Ph.D Physics

Admissions (Eligibility)

=> M.Sc. Physics - B.Sc. with 45% mark Physics and Mathematics as compulsory subjects at B. Sc. level.
=> Ph.D Physics - General Procedure-As per University norms.

Intake Capacity :
=> M.Sc. Physics - 45
=> Ph.D Physics - 45

Research Activity/Specialization

=> Materials Science
=> Computational Physics
=> Solid State Defects
=> X-Ray Spectroscopy
=> Lumniscence
=> Acoustics (Ultrasonic).


Stay connected with us on

Follow Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course