Bangalore University, Bangalore

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Kannada


Department of Kannada

Department of Kannada was established in 1918 at Central College as part of Mysore University. Luminaries of Kannada literature like G.P.Rajaratnam taught in the department When Bangalore University was established in 1964, Prof. R.S.Mugali became Head of the department. He was the recipient of Central Sahithya Academi Award and the first historian of Kannada literature. Department moved to Jnanabharathi campus in 1973. Dr.G.S.Shivarudrappa was the HOD. The department was named Centre for Kannada Studies. Centre for Kannada Studies is nurtured by stalwarts of Kannada literature and scholars like, G.S.Shivarudrappa, M.Chidananda Murthy, HamPaNa, K.V.Narayan, K.R.Nagaraj, D.R.Nagaraj, K.P.Bhat, Baragooru Ramchandrappa, N.S.Laxminarayana Bhatt, Chandrashekhara Kambara who have contributed in the areas like poetics, criticism, linguistics, folklore and cultural studies.

Department of Kannada
Bangalore University, Bangalore
Bangalore, Karnataka


Stay connected with us on

Follow Bangalore University, Bangalore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course