Bangalore University, Bangalore

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

The Department was started in 1908. Professor F L Usher, a student of Sir, William Ramsay of England was appointed as the first Professor of the Department in 1910. The department was affiliated to the University of Madras until 1916. It attained the status of a University department after the establishment of University of Mysore. It came under the administrative control of Bangalore University in the year 1964. Since its inception the department had specializations in the areas of Inorganic, Organic and Physical Chemistry. Biochemistry was introduced in 1973 and Analytical Chemistry specialization as recently as 2006. The development of the department during the past century is due to the efforts of galaxy of teachers that include Prof. M Shadaksharaswamy, Prof. T H Venkata Setty, Prof. G K Narayana Reddy and Prof. K M Sivanandaiah. The leads and impetus provided by these eminent scientists have led to blossoming of research in modern areas of Chemistry. Encouraged by the past glory, the department is striving hard to create a niche for itself in national and international domains of research and teaching.

Department of Chemistry
Bangalore University, Bangalore
Bangalore, Karnataka


Stay connected with us on

Follow Bangalore University, Bangalore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course