Bangalore University, Bangalore

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of History

Department of History

Department of History

The Department of History was founded in 1962, preceding the founding of Bangalore University by 2 years. Established under the auspices of the University of Mysore, the Department located at the Central College Campus was shifted to the sprawling Jnana Bharathi Campus in 1975. Since its inception the Department has been striving for excellence in research and teaching. The Department has specialized in Modern Indian History, with a special emphasis on History of Modern Karnataka. The research output of the Department in this area has been considerable. A member of the faculty has also been specializing in Ancient and Medieval Indian History. The Department has had the honour of having renowned scholars like Prof. Hamid, Prof. K. Narasaiah, Prof. K. Veerathappa, Dr. S.U. Kamath, Prof. H.V. Srinivasa Murthy, Prof. Pratibha Chinnappa. Dr. K. Narasaiah and Dr. K. Veerathappa were Fulbright scholars. Dr. Kamath was appointed Director of Karnataka State Archives, Chief Editor of Karnataka Gazetteer, Member ofICSSR and Chairman of RajaRam Mohan Roy Library Foundation. Dr. S. Chandrashekar, presently professor in the Department is the recipient of the UGC Career Award and Karnataka Sahitya Academy Award. Dr. S. Chandrashekar was also appointed member of ICHR& Director, ICHR Southern Regional Centre. Dr. N. Shaik Masthan is a recipient of Sardar Vallabhai Patel Education Development and Peace Award. Dr. M. Munirajappa, is a recipient ofNational Award for Citizen Friendly Government of India. The Department has had a track record of hosting several International, National, and Regional Conferences/Seminars. To mention a few - Indian Congress on American History (1966), Indo-American History Congress (1979), The V and the 12th session of Karnataka History Congress (1982) & (1994), ICHR National Seminar on Freedom Movement in South India (1986), 57' Indian History Congress (1997) and the latest 26'' Session of the South Indian History Congress (2006). The Department has also risen to situations and addressed issues by organising National symposiums such as Dimensions of Partition of India (1994), Threats to the Foundations of Indian Nation (1997), History and Literature (1997) Reorganisation of South Indian States-History andImpact(2006). The Department has the honour of being the Founder of the Karnataka History Congress. The Department also has had the distinction of its alumni occupying distinguished positions, including Prof. O. Anantharamaiah, presently the Vice-Chancellor, Tumkur University. Credit also goes to the Department for having produced a large number of Civil Service Officers.

Department of History
Bangalore University, Bangalore
Bangalore, Karnataka


Stay connected with us on

Follow Bangalore University, Bangalore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course