Veer Narmad South Gujarat University, Surat

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics was established in 1970 with 2 staff members [1 Reader, 1 Lecturer] which has now 12 sanctioned faculty positions. Despite the basic handicaps, the Department started part time M.Phil programme for college teachers in Theoretical Physics with the help of visiting faculties from P.R.L., Ahmedabad in 1973 long before UGC mooted the idea of M.Phil. The research areas were Theoretical Physics and Thin Film Physics. Department was moved to the university campus in 1977 with some more facilities. The Department was then offering M.Sc. degree course in Physics with a specialization in Electronics only. Starting from the early eighties two more specializations viz., Theoretical physics and Materials Science were added to the M.Sc.(Physics) programme. The research areas were expanded to include Crystal Growth and Instrumentation / Digital Communication. A new program in M.Sc. (Electronics) was started in1989 as a follow up to B.Sc.(Electronics) being offered by colleges in the south Gujarat region. Keeping up with the needs of the times and development plans of thrust areas, another two-year M.Sc.(Tech) (now self financed) Applied Physics degree course has been introduced from the year 2000. Both M.Sc.(Electronics) and M.Sc.(Tech) Applied physics degree courses cater to the skill and manpower requirements of the regional industrial set-ups.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Veer Narmad South Gujarat University, Surat

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course