University of Kalyani, Kalyani

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Political Science


Department of Political Science

A creation of Fifth Five Year Plan, the Department of Political Science set out on its tryst with destiny in the academic session of 1978-79 with a contingent of five teaching posts and twenty five students and Professor Madhu Mangal Singh, an eminent scholar in the fields of Public Administration and Constitutional Law,took the chair of Head of the department. Professor Tarun Chandra Bose, a UGC National Lecturer and a name in the US Hall of Fame, joined the department during the Sixth Plan and served till his retirement. It was during the Seventh Plan that another teaching post and a post of Research Associate were gained by the department. Though the department started as a minor, over the years it gained some reputation as a good teaching place.The department through its sheer quality of teaching has placed some of its students in high positions of the corporate world, university positions and teaching positions in the colleges of West Bengal and other states. The number of seats for students has increased steadily to touch the 100th mark in 2002.

At present thirty-six of the thirty-nine colleges and institutions affiliated to our University send their students to the department, which is gearing up to transmute this expanded influx of human resource. A forward looking entity, the department has always taught updated syllabi.

Department of Political Science
University of Kalyani, Kalyani
West Bengal


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Kalyani, Kalyani

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course