University of Pune, Pune

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Geology, University of Pune, Pune


Department of Geology

Founded in 1955 the Department of Geology was fully established in the august campus of the then University of Pune during 1971. Presently with an intake capacity of 25, the Department runs the credit based course of M Sc Geology having several optional credits added time and again updating the syllabus. Twelve full time faculty members with expertise in classical, applied and emerging fields of geosciences run the course. The Department is well equipped with basic as well as advanced facilities including a sophisticated thin section and polishing lab (Buehler equipments), several optical microscopes (Nikon, Leica, Zeiss), XRF (Panalytical), ICPE (Shimadzu), XRD (Rigaku), AAS (Varian), HPIC, Microwave digestion, Millipore and the Palaeomagnetic equipments. The Department is recognized and funded by the national programs of DST-FIST (Phase II) and UGC SAP-DRS2, UPE, ISRO including some funds from ONGC.

Courses Offered

- Master of Science (M.Sc Geology)
- Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D Geology)


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Pune, Pune

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course