University of Madras, Chennai

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Agro Economic Research Centre


The Government of India has established Agro Economic Research Centres through out the country with a view to provide them with a constant flow of data on various aspects of Agriculture and Rural life. At the outset, four Centres were started each in New Delhi, Santhiniketan, Poona and Chennai. At present there are 15 Centres in the Country.

A.E.R.C. at Chennai was started on 15th April 1954 for the purpose of carrying out a comprehensive and a continuous study of agricultural economic problems in the States of Tamilnadu, Kerala, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka. Later Karnataka State was attached to a Centre at Bangalore and Andhra Pradesh to a sister centre located at Andhra University, Waltair. Currently, the Chennai Centre covers the States of Tamilnadu, Kerala, Pondicherry and Lakshadweep.


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Madras, Chennai

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course