University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

The Department of philosophy started functioning in 1979 under the Department of psychology. Dr. K. Saratchandran was appointed as Reader in Philosophy on 7-11-1979. He was assigned the task of research guidance and to initiate steps to start a fullfledged Department of Philosophy as per the Provisions of the University Act, Statutes and Regulations. The research scholars who were undertaking research activities in the University College were transferred to the University Department of Psychology. The first batch of Research Scholars Smt. D. Nesy, Smt. S. Omana, Sri. C.A.Padmanabhan completed their research and submitted their thesis in 1980, 1981 and 1982 respectively and degrees were also awarded to them within 18 months to two years. All of them were faculty in philosophy working in different Government Colleges. Two more research scholars completed their research and joined in the collegiate Service. Later on Smt. V. Sujatha, Sri. Alphonse Louis Erayil and Sri. D. Elias were awarded PhD. Degree. In course of time, the University decided to give the status of a fullfledged Department to the Department of Philosophy. In 1985 the Department of philosophy became an independent Department with Dr. K. Saratchandran, as the founder Professor. The inauguration of the Department was conducted with an All India Seminar on Language Terminology.

Department of Philosophy
University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Kerala, Thiruvananthapuram

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course