Tezpur University, Tezpur

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Sociology

Department of Sociology

Department of Sociology

The department was established in 2006. It introduced the two-year M.A programme in august that year with an intake capacity of 15.It has also introduced doctoral programme from January, 2008. The M. A. students are imparted training in the advance areas of sociology which include courses, among others, on advanced Sociological Theories, Social Demography, Industrial Sociology, Sociology of Development and Sociology of Northeast India. The students are required to undertake altogether 16 courses out of which 4 are optional courses. The optinal courses include Sociology of Medicine, Quantitative Sociology, Sociology of Culture and Mass Media, Criminology, Environmental Sociology, and Gender and Society. Students are also required to write a field based dissertation on any theme of their preference under the supervision of a faculty.

Department of Sociology
Tezpur University,
Napaam, Sonitpur,
Assam-784 028,


Stay connected with us on

Follow Tezpur University, Tezpur

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course