Mysore University, Mysore

Departments of Physics


The department was established in the year 1960 in the Manasagangotri campus of the University of Mysore. Beginning as a small department offering only an M.Sc. course in one special subject, Spectroscopy, today it has grown into one of the largest departments on the campus offering both Master's and Doctoral programs covering one or more aspects of Physics in the following areas of study:

Atmospheric Physics
Condensed Matter Physics
Environmental Radiation
Nuclear Physics
Theoretical Physics
It was one of the first few university departments in the country selected under the University Leadership Project of the UGC to take up the College Science Improvement Program (COSIP) in Physics. This program stretched over a period of ten years during which the undergraduate physics curricula and teaching were modernised.

In 1995, the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India, set up a National Single Crystal Diffractometer Facility to cater to the XRD data needs of crystal structure related researchers in this department and other universities/Institutes/Laboratories/Industries.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Mysore University, Mysore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course