Mysore University, Mysore

Departments of Chemistry


The department had been established even before the University was incorporated in 1916. In fact, a Chair in Chemistry had already been instituted in 1910 at the Central College with Dr. F.I. Usher, a distinguished student of Sir. William Ramsay, as the professor of Chemistry. In 1917, a Chair in Organic Chemistry was instituted and Mr. M.G. Srinivasa Rao became its occupant as the professor of Organic Chemistry. Later, Dr. B. Sanjiva Rao became the professor of General Chemistry.

The Department of Chemistry was also started along with Dr. C. Suryanarayana as the Head of the Department, who served for a brief period. A year later, under the able leadership f Prof. G. Narayan the department was befittingly shifted to the kitchen of Jayalakshmi Vilas Mansion, (now a museum and a part of this university), after the induction of Dr. H. Sanke gowda, Dr. K.S. Siddalingaiah and Dr. T.R. Ramaiah as permanent faculty members of the department, specialized in Inorganic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry respectively. Four years later the post-graduate department of Chemistry was shifted to the new building on 28.03.1964, which was inaugurated by Padmabhushana Prof. M.S. Thacker, D.Sc., D.Litt.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Mysore University, Mysore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course