Mysore University, Mysore

Departments of Mathematics


Department of Studies in Mathematics was established in 1960 with Prof. K. Venkatachala Iyengar as the first Head of the Department who was instrumental in making the Department as an active research center. Professors Keshava Hegde, T. S. Nanjundaiah and S. Bhargava continued this Mathematical tradition. Some of the other distinguished faculties who contributed to the development of the Department are Professors H. S. Gopalakrishna, E. Sampathkumar, C. Puttamadaiah, B. S. Kiranagi, B. S. Panduranga Rao, S. Nanjunda Rao, Huchegowda and Padmavathamma.

Currently there are seven faculty members with research specialization cutting across the broad areas of Algebra, Analysis, Number Theory, Graph Theory, Special Functions, Partition Theory, Theory of Quadratic Forms, Differential Equations and Numerical Methods.

Our faculty members have received various national and international awards for their academic achievements.

The Department has conducted several National and International Conferences, Workshops and refresher courses with UGC, NBHM, CSIR, DST assistance.

Several of the alumni of the Department have achieved great academic excellence and are now occupying high positions in premiere institutions and Universities in India and abroad.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Mysore University, Mysore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course