Mysore University, Mysore

Departments of Education


The history of the department dates back to 1956 when a postgraduate course in education leading to the M.Ed. degree was introduced at the then University Teachers College (now, the Government of College Teacher Education). But, an independent Postgraduate Department of Studies and Research in Education was set up in 1960 at the new campus Manasagangotri, alongside many other postgraduate departments of the University. This was the first department in the postgraduate campus to start teaching in Kannada medium (1981), in addition to English medium. The department also offered M.Ed. (Part-time) and M.A. (Education) courses till 1976.

The DOS in Education of University of Mysore, Manasagangotri, Mysore is of four decade old. The University of Mysore started the PG Course in Education Leading to M.Ed degree in 1956 at University Teachers' College now called College of Teacher Education with eminent educationists Like Prof. A.C. Devegowda as PrincipaL and Dr. C. Rangachar as professor in Education, Later; i.e., in June 1960, a separate Post Graduate Department of Studies and Research in Education was established for M.Ed course at the new campus of Manasagangotri along with other PG Departments. Dr. N.S. Veerappa was the first Head of the Department and Dean of Faculty of Education, who was succeeded by eminent people like Dr. R.P. Singh, Dr. D.N. Seetharamaiah, Dr. P.R. Nayar and. Dr. A. Lingajammanni. In the scheme of rotation of Chairmanship, which is in vogue since 1987, Dr. N. Venkataiah, Dr. B.N. Sujatha, Dr. M.S. Lalithamma, Dr. K. Yeshodhara, Sri. B.N. Manjunathaiah and Dr. A.S. Raghavakumari have been the chairpers on of the department for a period of 2 years each. Dr. N. Venkataiah, Dr. B. N. Sujatha, Dr. M.S. Lalithamma, Dr. A.S. Raghavakumari (2 years each) and Dr. K. Yeshodhara (9 months) have held the office of Dean of Faculty of Education rotation. Currently Dr. T. Padmini is the chairperson of the Department and Dr. M.S. Lalithamma is the Dean of Faculty of Education. At present there are four Professors, and 3 readers on the teaching staff, one Library cum Laboratory Assistant, one Clerk cum Typist and one Peon on the non-teaching staff. Currently the Department is offering semester scheme with an intake of 50+ and provisions to work for Ph.D. too.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Mysore University, Mysore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course