Mysore University, Mysore

See this page in HINDI >>

Departments of Physical Education


The University College of Physical Education started under the department of Physical Education, University of Mysore, Mysore, in the year 1972. The Bachelor of Physical Education (B.P.Ed.) course was started in the year 1972 with an intake capacity of 20 students.

In the same department Master of Physical Education (M.P.Ed) course of one year duration was started in the year 1974 with an intake capacity of 15 students. The duration of M.P.Ed.course was enhanced to two years in the year 2001 as per guidelines of N.C.T.E. The academic wing of the department of Physical Education was called University College of Physical Education. In the year 1993, the College was bifurcated from the Department of Physical Education. The College of Physical Education was renamed as the Department of Studies in Physical Education and Sports Sciences, in the year 2002. The B.P.Ed. and M.P.Ed. courses are residential and are recognized by the National Council for Teacher Education in India.

The department is pioneer in the state offering under-graduate and post-graduate teacher training courses. The graduated students work as Physical Education Teachers, Physical Directors, Sports Officers and Instructors in sports and games in schools, colleges, Universities, corporate sectors and other organizations.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Mysore University, Mysore

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course