Anna University, Chennai

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Civil Engineering


Department of Civil Engineering

The Department of Civil Engineering of Anna University is the oldest in the Country. It dates back to May 17, 1794, when the East India Company established a Survey School to train military personnel and surveyors. This has grown to a Civil Engineering School in 1858 and later a Civil Engineering College in 1859.

Over the years with the help of dedicated group of people, it expanded to the present level as one of a highly reputed group of Civil Engineering Departments in the country. Presently the Department of Civil Engineering has six well established disciplines - Structures, Water Resources, Soil Mechanics, Environmental Engineering, Urban Engineering and Remote Sensing.

The department functions with three divisions

Structural Engineering
Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering
Division of Urban Systems and Development
Three advanced centres

Centre for Water Resources
Centre for Environmental Studies
Institute for Remote Sensing
These centres and divisions all have fully developed laboratories with classroom facilities and are renowned for their academic and research achievements at national and international levels. The Department of Civil Engineering has been approved for a very long time as a centre for the Quality Improvement Programme at Masters and Doctoral levels.

Professor, Head - in - Charge
Department of Civil Engineering,
Anna University , Chennai.
Chennai - 600 025

Department of Civil Engineering
Anna University,
Chennai -25


Stay connected with us on

Follow Anna University, Chennai

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course