Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Telugu


Department of Telugu

The Department of Telugu is one which was born with the establishment of Andhra University. But the 3 year honors courses were started in 1931. This department was endowed with good academic programme, that produced many eminent teachers and scholars.

In 1958 in place of 3 years B.A. Honors, 4 year Honors was started. In 1960 M.A. Telugu course was started. With the services of these teachers the department has grown by heaps and bounds. The alumni of this department Prof. Bh.Krishna Murthy, Prof. Narayani Krishna Kumari, Prof. T.Donappa and Prof. K.Enock were appointed as Vice-Chancellor of various Universities.

For every 3 years the syllabus is being changed to provide equipment to the students preparing for various competitive examinations like U.P.S.C., A.P.P.S.C., NET, SLET etc. The department produced an I.A.S.and many officers of the State Government.

This department conducted many seminars and National seminars. Almost all the faculty members of our department published many papers in various magazines and published books. Prof. K.Malaya Vasini was awarded the Best Teacher award and also the Ugadi Puraskar of Delhi Telugu Association, this year on 3rd March, 2000. Dr.B.Aruna KUmari, Head of the Dept. of Telugu was awarded the 'Kavitraya' award of late Tikkavarpu Rami Reddy of Nellore on 23rd February, 2000.

Department of Telugu
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
Andhra Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course