Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

Department of Philosophy

The Department was founded in 1932 by Prof. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, Former President of India, with Prof. Saileswara sen as the first Head of the Department and Prof. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan himself as a honorary professor. The department also had other eminent scholars in philosophy including Prof. Humayun Kabir, Prof. P.T. Raju, Dr. D. Ramakrishnaiah and Prof. T. A. purushottam, all of whom made significant contributions in the field of philosophy. Prof. S. Radhakrishnan's vision to place Andhra University's Philosophy department at international level was achieved through the leadership of Mahamahopadyaya Prof. K. Satchidananda Murty who was honoured with a PadmaVibhusan in 2001 by Govt. of India. Prof. K. Satchidananda Murty creatively lead the philosophical discourse for decades, incorporating both Eastern and Western philosophical traditions.

The department is well known for studies in Vedanta as well as for comparative studies in Indian and Western idealism; Research interests of the department include-classical (eg. Vedanta, Buddhism) and modern Indian philosophy (eg. Gandhi, M.N. Roy, Neo-Vedanta) as well as Western philosophy (eg. Pragmatism, Existentialism, Dewey, Ortaga Y Gasset, Positivism, Marxism, etc.).

The department is in SAP phase II at present.

The department is tied up with the Asia Theological Association represented by Asian Institute of Theology, Bangalore and in this partnership there is provision for exchange of teachers, scholars and students for conducting collaborative research and academic programmes.

Department of Philosophy
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
Andhra Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course