Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Politics and Public Administration


Department of Politics and Public Administration

The study of Political Science and Public Administration has always been regarded as highly important in Andhra University since its inception seventy two years ago. For many years History, Economics and Politics functioned together as a single unit. In 1964 a separate Department of Politics Public Administration came into being with Dr. R.V.R.Chandrasekhara Rao as the Head of the Department. The UGC gave sanction to the Department to start an evening programme of PG Diploma in Strategic Studies from the academic year 1978 - 79. In 1993 the Department revied and restructured the syllabi for M.A. Politics and M.A. Public Administration which are common for all streams of study of Andhra University campus; as well as Postgraduate Centre, Kakinada; PG Department at Eluru and Narsapur.

Many eminent academics were associated with this department, Prof. M.Venkatarangaiya, Prof. N.Srinivasan, Prof. V.Jagannadham, Prof. R.V.R.Chandrasekhara Rao and Prof. C.v.Raghavulu were on the staff of the Department.

Several distinguished Professors from American and British Universities visited the department during the last three decades and among them were Prof. Charles Boyer, Prof. William David, Prof. Jan Myrdal, Prof. Richard Park, Prof. Hugh Gray and Prof. Stephen Cohen. Among the distinguished Indian Professors who visited and lectured at the Department were Prof. Rajni Kothari, Prof. P.N.Masaldan, Prof. Inamdar, Prof. C.A.Perumal and Prof. G.Ram Reddy. Prof. M.Venkatarangaiya and Prof. N.Srinivasan, Prof. N.G.Ranga is currently and Honorary Professor of the Department. Prof. R.V.R. Chandrasekhar Rao is currently Honarary Professor of the Department.

Prof. R.V.R.Chandrasekhara Rao, Prof. K.Venkateswarlu and Prof. A.Prasanna Kumar were Fulbright Fellows of this Department. Prof. K.Ravi, visited U.K. during 1987 - 88 as Commonwealth Senior Research Fellow. Prof. A.Prasanna Kumar was at Armstrong State College, Savannah as visiting Professor under the Rajiv Gandhi Foundation Exchange Programme.

Department of Politics and Public Administration
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
Andhra Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course