Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Botany


Department of Botany

The Department of Botany is 58 years old, being started in 1946 with Prof. M.O.P Iyengar as the first Head, Prof. J.Venkateswarlu and Prof. B.S.Rao as founder faculty members. The pass course, which existed for a couple of years, was replaced by an Honours course to be followed successfully by M.Sc. (Botany) by Research in 1949 and M.Sc. (Botany) by study since 1959.Currently there are 21 faculty members with 13 Professors, 7 Associate Professors and 1 Assistant Professors, specialized in different fields of Botany. Cytogenetics has been one of the thrust areas in the research activities of the Department and identified as one of the pioneer centers in Cytogenetics and basing on the work carried out in this area, the UGC has recognized the Department as a Center for Special Assistance Programme in Plant Cytogenetics in the year 1972. Since then, this Center has successfully completed three decades of research activities in this thrust area and is in the 3 rd phase. And basing on the overall research work carried out in all the disciplines, the UGC has also recognized this Department and extended financial support of Rs.45.0 lakhs under COSIST program for strengthening the infrastructural facilities of the department.

Department of Botany
Andhra University, Visakhapatnam
Andhra Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow Andhra University, Visakhapatnam

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course