Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics was founded in 1929, the year of inception of the University. It has been headed by eminent mathematicians Dr. A. Narasinga Rao (1926-1946), Dr. G. V. Krishnaswamy Iyengar (1946-1950), Dr. V. Ganapathy Iyer (1950-1972), Dr. G. Sankaranarayanan (1972-1986), Dr. R. Balakrishnan (1986-1998), Dr. (Mrs.) AR. Meenakshi (1998-2004), Dr. P. Paulraja (2004-2012). Currently Dr. N. Thillaigovindan is heading the Department (since 2012).

Courses Offered :

=> M.Sc. Mathematics
=> M.Phil. Mathematics
=> Ph.D. in Mathematics

Facilities :

Computer Laboratory :
The Department has well equipped Computer Laboratory with 56 PCs, 02 Workstations and 02 IBM Servers. It is also equipped with Scanners, Copier Cum Printer, Printers and Fax machine. A separate Computer Lab is also available for Teaching Staff and Research Scholars.

Department Library :
The Departmental library is supported by National Board of Higher Mathematics (since 1990), DST-FIST (2004-09), and UGC-SAP (since 2009). Under these programs and various research grants, the Department has received around Rs. 2 crores in the last five years. 10 UGC-BSR fellowships are also provided to the Research Scholars of the Department under this scheme. The Departmental Library contains more than 5000 subject books and Journal volumes. Currently 15 National and International Journals covering the research areas of the Department are subscribed.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Annamalai University, Annamalai Nagar

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course