University of Roorkee

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Mechanical Engineering


Department of Mechanical Engineering

The Department of Mechanical Engineering came into being in the year 1946 and the first batch of Mechanical Engineers graduated in the year 1949. In November 1973, this department was renamed as Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering. At present, it offers both undergraduate and postgraduate teaching in various facets of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering . The department has an intake of 60 students at undergraduate level - 40 in B.E. (Mechanical) and 20 in B.E. (Industrial). The Department offers Master of Engineering courses in Thermal Engineering, Machine Design Engineering, Production & Industrial System Engineering, and Welding Engineering. The intake for each M.E. course is ten students. In the year 1982, Welding Research Laboratory (WRL) was established under Indo-German Technical Collaboration. The Department was recognised as a Centre of Advanced Studies (CAS) in the year 1990-91 by the UGC in the areas of Computer Aided Engineering and Industrial Noise Pollution and its Control.

Department of Mechanical Engineering
University of Roorkee
Roorkee, Uttarakhand


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Roorkee

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course