University of Roorkee

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Earth Sciences


Department of Earth Sciences

The Department of Earth Sciences, formerly the Department of Geology and Geophysics, was established in 1960. During the span of three decades the department has become one of the foremost centres of research, post graduate training and consultancy in the field of geosciences. The department is recipient of financial aid under the prestigious Special Assistance and COSIST programmes of UGC.

The geological studies in the university date back to the middle of the last century when Colonel Sir Proby Cautley (who was responsible for establishing the Thomason Engineering College) was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society, London, for his pioneering work on the vertebrate fossils of the Shiwalik Ranges. Later Henry Benedict Medlicot, who occupied the Chair in Geology and Experimental Sciences at Thomason College was also admitted as the Fellow of the Royal Society in 1877.

Presently the department runs three courses viz. MSc in applied geology of two years duration, MTech in applied geology and MTech in applied geophysics, each of three years' duration. Research work leading to PhD degree in several interdisciplinary areas and research and consultancy programmes constitute an integral part of the departmental activities.

The faculty is engaged in a number of research projects sponsored by the UGC, CSIR, DST, ONGC, etc, and the consultancy projects sponsored by various industries, and government agencies.

Department of Earth Sciences
University of Roorkee
Roorkee, Uttarakhand


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Roorkee

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course