University of Lucknow

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Persian


Department of Persian

The Department Of Persian was established in 1878 along with the foundation of Canning College. Since conversion of Canning College into University of Lucknow in 1922 the Department of Persian started functioning jointly with the Department of Urdu. It was bifurcated from Department of Urdu 1975. During all these 127 years of its foundation number of well known scholars of Persian language & literature including Maulvi Kamal Uddin, Bazlur Rahman , Prof. Masood Hasan Rizvi, Adeeb, Syed Yousuf Husain Mosvi, Prof. Ehtesham Husain Rizvi, Prof. Noorul Hasan Hashmi, Dr. Syed Raghib Husain , Prof. M. Wali Ul Haaque Ansari, Prof. Nayed Masood, Prof. Asifa Zamani.etc.have been associated with the Department.

Department of Persian
University of Lucknow
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Lucknow

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course