University of Lucknow

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

The Chemistry Department of Lucknow University came into existence in 1927. The first Head of the Department was Prof. P. S. McMahon, FNI who was also one of the founder members of the Indian Science Congress. The department has been lucky in having on its roll a distinguished staff, to name a few, Prof. S. H. Zaheer, Prof. G. S. Siddhu (who later rose to the chair of Director General, CSIR), Prof. A. C. Chatterjee, Prof. S. N. Shukla, Prof. M. P. Khare and many more.

This is the largest department of the science faculty with a strength of about 2500 Post Graduate and Under Graduate students, apart from about 85 research scholars. It imparts teaching both to the Biology as well as the Mathematics group students. It forms a subject combination with every subject in the science faculty.

Department of Chemistry
University of Lucknow
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Lucknow

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course