University of Lucknow

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Economics

Department of Economics

Department of Economics

The Department of Economics started functioning with the formation of the Lucknow University in 1921. Two other departments, Anthropology and Sociology, were created during mid fifties respectively, which earlier used to be a part of Economics Department. Prof. Radha Kamal Mukherjee was the first Head of the Department. He remained Head until 1955. For a period of over two years during mid-fifties, he also remained The Vice-chancellor of the Lucknow University. Subsequently, Department has had a good fortune of being shaped and developed under the Headship of academicians like Prof. D.P.Mukherjee (1955-57), Prof. Baljit singh (1957-74), Prof. S.D.Mishra (1974-75), Prof. Prakash Chandra (1975-76), Prof. V.B.Singh (1976-78), Prof. N.N.Srivastava (1978-92) and Prof. Paritosh Banerjee (1992-96). Besides these academic luminaries the Department consisted of many great teachers and scholars like Prof. B.B.Mukherjee (also conferred the title of Rai Bahadur by the British Government), Prof. D.N.Majumdar, Prof. M.D.Joshi, Prof. Naseer Ahmad Khan, Prof. P.L.Rawat, Prof. K.C.G.eth, Prof. H.G.P.Srivastava, Prof. P.D.Srimali, Prof. Shailendra singh, Prof. S.P.Dixit, Prof. R.S.Mathur, Prof. A.K.Singh, Prof. V.P.Bharadwaj, Prof. T.S.Papola and Prof. B.P.S.Bhadauria.

Department of Economics
University of Lucknow
Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow University of Lucknow

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course