National Means Merit Scholarship (NMMS) for Class 8 Students
National Means Merit Scholarship (NMMS) for Class 8 Students

NMMS is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme and it was launched in the year 2008 by the Department of School Education & Literacy under the MHRD. 

 The objective of the NMMS is to award scholarships to meritorious students of economically weaker sections to support and encourage them.

The selection of students awarded the scholarships are made through an NMMS examination conducted by the State Governments.


NMMS Highlights

Full Exam NameNational Means Cum-Merit Scholarship
Short Exam NameNMMS
Conducting BodyMinistry of Human Resource Development
Frequency of ConductOnce a year
Exam LevelMatriculate
LanguagesEnglish, Hindi
Mode of ApplicationOffline
Mode of ExamOffline
Exam Duration3 Hours
NMMS Highlights

The scholarship is awarded to selected students every year for study in classes from IX to XII in State Government, Government aided, and local body schools. Details of NMMS for Class VIII Students state-wise is given below.

NMMS Important Info

Dates: NMMS scholarship is generally announced every year during the month of July and its deadline falls in the month of October. This application period is tentative as it varies from year to year. It may change the next year at the discretion of the scholarship provider.

Eligibility: Candidates who wish to apply for the NMMS scholarship must be regular students studying in class 8 after getting clear promotion from class 7 with a score of at least 55% or equivalent grades.

NMMS Syllabus

There is no syllabus for NMMS Examination. However, questions will be asked on the basis of the syllabi of Classes VII and VIII.

NMMS Exam Pattern

NMMS exam pattern is important for success in the NMMS exam. Exam pattern guides students about the standard of questions, number of questions, marking scheme, syllabus, and much more.

This helps students plan their studies according to the weightage and time required for any particular topic. NMMS exam will have two sections, Mental Ability Test (MAT) and Scholastic Abilities (SAT). For more details on these two particular topics, read below:

  • The Mental Ability Test (MAT): This Test section will have 90 objective types and multiple-choice questions. Each question is for one mark. These questions will be based on analogy, pattern perception, classification, hidden figures, etc. and they will test a student’s reasoning and critical thinking skills.
  • Scholastic Ability Test (SAT) –  This also consists of 90 objective-type, multiple-choice questions of one mark each. These questions will come from subjects and topics taught in classes VII and VII Science, Social Science, and Mathematics, and will test the scholastic aptitude of a student.

NMMS Admit Card

  • The admit card for NMMS has been released in the offline/ online mode. Students whose applications were accepted before the last date can download the NMMS admit card from their schools/institutions. Some states release the NMMS admit card in online mode.
  • NMMS admit card consists of details about the student’s name, center details, the schedule for the exam, roll number, etc.
  • It is crucial to carry the admit card of NMMS to the exam hall as students are not to be allowed to give the exam if they don’t have their admit card.
  • After the exam ends, students need to submit their NMMS admit card to the invigilator, thus, they are advised to keep a photocopy of the admit card beforehand.

Documents Required at Exam

  • NMMS Admit Card
  • Govt. Issued Photo ID card or School ID card
  • Aadhar card

NMMS Result

The NMMS result will be released in January 2023, tentatively. Students can check the NMMS result online mode.

They need to enter their roll number and school code to search for their result. Some states/UTs announce a final merit list that includes the names of students who qualified for NMMS.

Here is the steps to check the result are given below:

Step 1: Go to the official website of the state SCERTs

Step 2: Enter your roll number and school code as mentioned in your NMMS admit card.

Step 3: Click on submit.

Step 4: NMMS result will load on your screen.

Step 5: Download and save the result for future reference.

NMMS results will consist of information like the applicant’s name, roll number, qualifying status, section-wise marks obtained against total marks, etc.


What is the NMMS scholarship amount?

NMMS disburses a total of 100,000 scholarships every year at the rate of INR 12000 per annum, i.e. INR 1000 per month, to the selected students. Under National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship, the scholarship amount is paid by State bank of India (SBI) on one go.

Who are eligible for the NMMS scholarship?

The candidates’ annual family income should not be more than INR 1.5 Lakh. Also, those students who are enrolled in NVS, KVS, Sainik schools and private schools are not eligible for this NMMS scholarship.

How many marks do you need to qualify for NMMS?

The qualification score for passing the NMMS exam is 40% for each of the MAT and SAT exams.