North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

The School of Physical Sciences consists of 2 departments namely, Department of Physics and Department of Electronics. In the academic year 1991-92 the School started its academic activity in Government Polytechnic, Jalgaon. In the first year of establishment, the School started a post-graduate program in Electronics under the Department of Electronics. In the subsequent year, a post-graduate course in Physics, with two specializations in Material Science and Energy Studies, was introduced under the Department of Physics. After the construction of few buildings on University campus at Umavinagar, the School was initially shifted in the building of School of Chemical Sciences and finally, on October 2, 1997 in its own building.

At present, the School has 9 full time faculty members consisting of 2 Professors, 5 Associate Professors and 3 Assistant Professors. It is due to the dedicated efforts of the active faculty members, valuable guidance of the distinguished personalities, timely support of university authorities and unquenching curiosity and enthusiasm of students, that the school is progressing to make on national and international arena in its academic pursuits and frontline research.

The University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has recognized the research excellence of the School by granting the Departmental Research Support (DRS)-Phase I scheme in 2004 and it was upgraded to DRS -Phase II in 2010. Apart from the UGC support, the School also received major funding from the Department of Science and Technology (DST), New Delhi under the FIST program in 2005. It is also worth mentioning that the faculty members of the School have received considerable individual support through research projects from the national and international funding agencies like Council of Scientific and industrial Research (CSIR), New Delhi; UGC, New Delhi, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), New Delhi; Ministry of Non-conventional Energy Sources (MNES), New Delhi, DST, New Delhi, Board of Research in Nuclear Sciences (BRNS), Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Mumbai and Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Italy.

The School has been recognized a technologically advanced center for high quality teaching and research to meet the latest requirements of companies and was granted by UGC to run the M.Tech, (VLSI Technology) course under the Faculty of Engineering in the scheme of Innovative Programs in the year 2005.

Department of Physics
North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon
Jalgaon, Maharashtra


Stay connected with us on

Follow North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course