North Eastern Hill University, Shillong

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Sociology

Department of Sociology

Department of Sociology

The teaching of sociology in NEHU was started in 1976 in the erstwhile Department of Sociology and Anthropology with a Professor, a lecturer and 21 M. A. students and an initial faculty strength of five. It was housed in a private bungalow in a residential area and the classes were held in the garage, only 20 chairs could be accommodated. The University Grants Commision (UGC) granted five more positions in December 1976 for the Fifth Years Plan period. Thus, the strength of the faculty turned out to be: Professors-2, Readers-4 and Lecturers-4. However, the effective strength of the Department continued to be seven, while the total number of students had reached 60 by 1980. All these years, the department gave instruction in Sociology at M. A. and M. Phil. levels and the NEHU awarded degrees only in Sociology from this department. From the very beginning efforts were made to evolve the Courses keeping in mind the Universal, (Indian) national and (North-East) regional traditions. Besides giving instructions at M. A., M. Phil and Ph. D. programmes, the Department in involved in active research by taking up projects, organizing seminars/conferences/symposia, attending seminars, conferences and by publishing articles and books.

The department started in July 1976 with joining of Prof. G. S. Aurora to NEHU, who was instrumental in recruiting two readers (Dr. A. P.Sinha and A. C. Sinha) and two lecturers (Mr. C. Nunthara & M. K. Rao). Dr. Rao left the department within two years and prof. Aurora too left NEHU in July 1980. By then Dr. V. Xaxa, Mr. Nikhilesh Kumar and Mr. C. L. Imchen had joined as lecturers and Dr. M. N. Karna as reader in the Department. With starting of the Department of Cultural Anthropology in the University in 1982, half of the faculty positions were transfered to the department of Anthropology and Dr. A. P. Sinha opted out of Sociology. Dr. P. M. Chacko was recruited as a reader in the Department as a reader in the department in 1985. Dr. P. S. Dutta joined and left and Dr. I. L. Aier joined the department as lecturer in late 1980's. By then four faculty members- Mr. C. Nunthara, V. Xaxa, N. Kumar and C. L. Imchen- elevated to readership. During the Eight Five year plan period the UGC granted a post og Professorship to which Dr. C. Nunthara was promoted . Mr. A. K. Nongkynrih was selected as a lecturer in 1991.

Prof. M. N. Karna went on deputation to A. N. S. Institute of Social Sciences, Patna as Director in 1991 for a period of three years. Dr. P. M. Chacko was promoted to professorship in Assam University, Silchar. He served for two years between 1996-98. Prof. A. C. Sinha was deputed for a year in 1997 to TALEEM Research Foundation, Ahmedabad to start a private University through distance learning. The UGC granted posts of a Professor, a reader and a lecturer to the Department during the Ninth Five Year Plan Period. The 20th century ended with a good augury for the Department, as the UGC selected it for its Department Research Scheme (DRS) programme. The new century saw long due promotion to professorship to Dr. P. M. Chacko, Dr. Nikhilesh Kumar and Dr. C. L. Imchen. With seven professors and eleven sanctioned faculty strength the Department is poised to scale new heights in its academic activities during the years to come.

Department of Sociology
North-Eastern Hill University,
Umshing Mawkynroh
Shillong 793022,


Stay connected with us on

Follow North Eastern Hill University, Shillong

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course