Gujarat University, Ahmedabad

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Economics

Department of Economics

Department of Economics

Department of Economics came into existence with the establishment of University School of Social Sciences in June, 1954 with internationally well-known Economists Prof. B.R. Shenoy as its first Head, who was also Schools first Director. After Prof. B.R. Shenoy’s exit in 1968, the Department also had well known economist Dr. D.T. Lakdawala (who later became Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission) for two and half years as its Head on an honorary basis when he was Director of Sardar Patel Institute of Economic and Social Research, Ahmedabad. During last 52 years of existence Department had several eminent academicians on its faculty, for example, Prof. H.N. Pathak, Prof. Rajendra Kumar, Prof. M.P. Bhatt, Prof. Jitendra Dholakia, Prof. M.S. Trivedi, Prof. J.I. Laliwala, Sri B.V. Buch (who later joined Indian Civil Services under IAS). Department is specialized in various areas of research in Economics such as Economic Policy, Agricultural and Rural and Industrial Development, Fiscal Policy Issues, Urban and Labour Problems and Environmental Economics.

Department of Economics
Gujarat University,
Ahmedabad – 380 009.


Stay connected with us on

Follow Gujarat University, Ahmedabad

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course