Himachal Pradesh University (HPU), Shimla

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Mathematics & Statistics


Department of Mathematics & Statistics

The department was established in 1970 under the dynamic leadership of Padma Bhushan Professor P.L. Bhatnagar. He brought with him vast academic, research and administrative experience which he used to lay the firm foundations of the department. He started with a team consisting of Prof. S.N.Dube, Prof. Mihir B. Banerjee, Prof. R.C. Sharma, Prof K.S.Shirkot, Prof. S. K. Gupta and Prof. J.R. Gupta. This young and dynamic team over the years, working hard, brought name and fame to the university and established the department on the the national and international scene. Three teachers namely Prof S. N. Dube, Prof Mihir B. Banerjee and Prof R. C. Sharma have been conferred the Fellowship of the National Academy of Sciences Allahabad for the distinguished work which they carried out while working here. Professor Mihir B. Banerjee was awarded the prestigious Shanti Swaroop Bhatanagar Award in Mathematical Sciences in the year 1988 for his research work. Later on Professor B.B. Sharma, Dr. K.C. Sharma and Professor Kirti Prakash also joined the department as teachers and contributed significantly.

Department of Mathematics & Statistics
Himachal Pradesh University, Shimla
Summer Hill
Himachal Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow Himachal Pradesh University (HPU), Shimla

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course