NAAC Grade A University of Calcutta, Kolkata
University of Calcutta, Kolkata
Request Admin Access

University of Calcutta, Kolkata

Established: 1857 Kolkata, West Bengal Phone: NA
Photo Gallery Videos Scholarships

University of Calcutta, Kolkata


Mode of Admission

West Bengal Joint Entrance Examinations (WBJEEM)

Admission Notifications

Formally established on the 24 January 1857, the University of Calcutta (also known as Calcutta University) (Bengali: কলকাতা বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়), located in the city of Kolkata (previously Calcutta), India, is the first modern university in the Indian subcontinent. It is a state-government administered urban-based affiliating and research university. It has its main campuses in College Street, Rajabazar, Alipore, Hazra, South Sinthi and a host of affiliated colleges in greater Kolkata .

University of Calcutta is the oldest of the modern universities in India.[1] It was founded in 1857 during the administration of Lord Canning (1856–1862), the Governor General of India. Dr Fredrick John, the education secretary to the then British Government in India, first tendered a proposal to the British Government in London for the establishment of a university in Calcutta, along the lines of London University, but at that time the plan failed to obtain the necessary approval. However, a proposal to establish two universities, one in Calcutta and the other in Bombay was later accepted in 1854 and the necessary authority was given. The Calcutta University Act came into force on 24 January 1857 and a 41-member Senate was formed as the policy making body of the university. When the university was first established it had a catchment area covering the area from Lahore to Rangoon (now in Myanmar) — the largest of any Indian university.[1]

The first Chancellor and Vice-Chancellor of the Calcutta University were Governor General Lord Canning and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, Sir James William Colvile, respectively.[2] In 1858, Joddu Nath Bose and Bankim Chandra Chattopadhyay became the first graduates of the university.[3] On 30 January 1858, the Syndicate of the Calcutta University started functioning.[3] The first meeting of the Senate was held in the Council room of the Calcutta Medical College. A temporary office of the university was started in a few rented rooms in Camac Street. For several years afterwards the meetings of the Senate and Syndicate were held in a room of the Writers' building. 244 candidates appeared for the first Entrance Examination of the university, held in March 1857 in the Town Hall of Calcutta. In 1862, a decision was taken by the Senate to construct for the university a building of its own. Accordingly, the historical Senate Hall was constructed at a cost of Rs. 2,52,221/- and inaugurated on 12 March 1873 by holding the convocation of the university.

In 1857 Nawab Jassa Singh Ahluwalia Government College in Kapurthala , Punjab province of British India became one of the first colleges to be affiliated with University of Calcutta. Later many institutions came under its jurisdiction. Kadambini Ganguly and Chandramukhi Basu became the first lady graduates of the country in 1882.[3] The Hon'ble Justice Gooroodas Banerjee became the first Indian Vice-Chancellor of University of Calcutta in the year 1890.[2] Sir Ashutosh Mukherjee was the Vice-Chancellor for four consecutive two-year terms (1906–1914) and a fifth two-year term (1921–23).

The university has several campuses spread over the city of Kolkata and its suburbs. The university also has many affiliated colleges spread over the southern West Bengal. The main campus of the university, located on College Street, is spread over a small area of 2.7 acres (much less than a square kilometer).[4] The main campus is also known as the Asutosh Siksha Prangan, and contains Darbhanga Building, Asutosh Building, Hardinge Building, and the Centenary Building.[5] The Rashbihari Siksha Prangan (also known as University College of Science and Technology or popularly Rajabazar Science College), located on Acharya Prafulla Chandra Road, houses several scientific and technological departments, e.g., pure and applied chemistry, pure and applied physics, applied mathematics, psychology, physiology, biophysics and molecular biology, to name a few.[5] Taraknath Siksha Prangan (also known as University College of Science or Ballygunge Science College) on Ballygunge Circular Road in the southern part of the city houses the departments of agriculture, anthropology, biochemistry, botany, genetics among others.[5] Other campuses are Hazra Road Campus, University Press And Book Depot, Sahid Khudiram Siksha Prangan, B. T. Road Campus, Viharilal College of Home Science Campus, University Health Service, Haringhata Campus, Dhakuria Lakes (University Rowing Club) and University Ground and Tent at Maidan.[5] The university has a plan to create a "Techno Campus", to bring together the engineering and technical departments under one roof, in Salt Lake.[6]

University of Calcutta, Kolkata has 170 affiliated Colleges. Click here to explore them.

University of Calcutta, Kolkata has 55 Departments listed that offer various academic courses.

Publish Your Event Add an event or your college festivals to It's quick and free!
  • College Building - College Building
    College Building
  • College Building - College Building
    College Building
  • Department of Business - Department of Business
    Department of Business
  • College Campus - College Campus
    College Campus
Browse More Photos
    No Question Papers yet

    Scholarships are grant-in-aid to a student who wants to pursue education at University of Calcutta, Kolkata

      The Institute has an excellent e-library that serves as a knowledge resource to the need of the teachers and students.
      Sports facilities are available in the campus. Annual Sports event is held in the month of December in every year
      Good transportation facilities for its students, staff members and visiting guests.
      Proper healthcare arrangements are done by college. Proper Medical Facilities are available
      24-hours internet access for all. Wi-Fi for all


      Senate House,
      87 /1 College Street,
      Kolkata-700 073
      Are you Interested in studying at University of Calcutta, Kolkata?
      Please provide name Please provide Email Please provide Mobile number Please provide City Please Select course