Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

Department of Physics

The Department of Physics, established in 1963 as a research and Postgraduate Teaching Department of Kerala University is one of the oldest Departments of the University. The Department has maintained a creditable record of postgraduate teaching and research. It has produced over 134 Ph.Ds and has more than 1000 research publications in leading internationalnational journals and conference proceedings and 7 books to its credit. This bears testimony to the teaching and research activities of the Department. Very recently, the UGC has identified the Department as one of the constituent units of the Centre of Excellence in Lasers and Optoelectronic Science.

The major experimental research facilities in the Department include X-ray Diffractometer, UVVisible NIR Spectrometer, Differential Scanning Calorimeter, Hall Effect Measuring Equipment, Nd-YAG laser, Diode Laser, Electrical and Optical Characterization equipment, Optical Microscope, Thin Film Coatings Units, Crystal Growth unit, Plasma Polymerization units, Furnaces, Impedance analyzer HP 4285, Laser Deposition system RF Magnetron Sputtering, Electron Beam evaporation, Liquid Nitrogen Plant, Workstation (HP), Fluorimeter, Stylus Profiler etc.

The Department has a good library having a collection of 12500 books and back issues of several national/international journals. The department is now subscribing 6 Indian journals. Facility for online search of journals published by American Physical Society, American Institute of Physics, IOPP, Elsevier Publications, IEE Publications etc. is available in the department library.

The Department has collaborative research programmes with the following institutions: IIT Madras; Dr. Ambedkar Marathawada University; University of Madras; IUCDAEF Bombay; Pondicherry University; IUCAA, Pune; Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore; NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram; Iwate University, Morioka, Japan; University of Twente, the Netherlands; Technical University of Eindhoven, the Netherlands; Free University, Berlin; Ulm University, Penn State University, USA and University of St. Andrews, Scotland. The department has also established collaborative tie-ups with industrial concerns and R&D organizations.

The UGC has chosen the department to receive special assistance through its DSA and COSIST programmes for strengthening research in the area of Materials Science and Theoretical Physics. The department is a participating Centre of the Theoretical Physics Seminar Circuit of DST, Government of India, IUCAA, Pune has established a reference centre in the department to strengthen the research and teaching activities in Astronomy, Astrophysics and related areas.

The department is one of the participating departments in the Centre of Excellence in Lasers and Optoelectronic Sciences established by UGC. The department also receives special assistance from the DST Government of India under ‘Fund for improvement of S & T infrastructure’ (FIST) programme and from KSCSTE under SARD programme.

Department of Physics
Cochin University of Science & Technology,


Stay connected with us on

Follow Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course