Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm)

Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm)

Learning Mode:

Full Time

Course Level:

Bachelors Degree

Course Duration:

4 Years


+2 Science Group (Physics, Chemistry, Biology) or equivalent.

Course Details:

The Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) is a four-year degree program with both annual and semester schemes.It is the study to develop insights into how drugs are developed and how medications affect the human body.

Format pharmacy education in India first with a 3-year BPharm course at Banaras Hindu University (BHU) in 1937. Initially, the curriculum included a combination of pharmaceutical chemistry, analytical chemistry, and pharmacy.

Before Independence in 1947, India had 3 institutions that offered pharmacy degree programs. In 1944, the Punjab University started a pharmacy department; and in 1947 L.M. College was established in Ahmedabad.

A variety of pharmacy degree programs are offered in India: Diploma in pharmacy (DPharm), bachelor of pharmacy (BPharm), master of pharmacy (MPharm), master of science in pharmacy [MS(Pharm)] and master of technology in pharmacy [MTech (Pharm)], doctor of pharmacy (PharmD), and doctor of philosophy in pharmacy (PhD)

Admission Criteria

Admission Criteria for admission to Pharmacy colleges vary from state to state, and also differs at various universities.

Admission to BPharm course can be taken cased on 10+2 marks. Some public and private universities conduct entrance exams. Students are required to clear them for taking admissions to BPharm course in India

The AICTE is also responsible for quality assurance of pharmacy programs (DPharm, BPharm and MPharm) through accreditation by National Board of Accreditation (NBA) constituted by the AICTE

Keywords: pharmacy education, pharmacy practice, India

List of Bachelor of Pharmacy (B.Pharm) Colleges by States in India
Andhra Pradesh Arunachal Pradesh
Assam Bihar
Chhattisgarh Goa
Gujarat Haryana
Himachal Pradesh Jammu & Kashmir
Jharkhand Karnataka
Kerala Madhya Pradesh
Maharashtra Manipur
Meghalaya Mizoram
Nagaland Orissa
Punjab Rajasthan
Sikkim Tamil Nadu
Telangana Tripura
Uttar Pradesh Uttarakhand
West Bengal Delhi
Chandigarh Puducherry
Daman and Diu Lakshadweep
Dadra & Nagar Haveli Andaman & Nicobar

Related Courses

Stay connected with us on

Today: Dec 06, 2023