Deemed Universities in India

There are 698 Universities in India. The universities in India are broadly of 4 types: Central Universities, State Universities, Deemed Universities and Private Universities. There are universities in each and every state of India. Three (of 7) union territories that have universities are Chandigarh, Delhi, and Puducherry.

Universities in India are recognised by University Grants Commission (UGC) which comes under the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD). In addition to UGC, All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) and National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) also add to the quality of education in Indian Universities.

Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu and Lakshadweep have no universities. Their colleges are affiliated to universities in nearby states.

India has a total of 18 IITs, the Indian School of Mines, 32 NITs, 18 state-funded technical institutes and 18 IIITs.

Below is the list of India Universities:


The types of universities include:

  • Central universities, also known as Union universities are under the purview of the Department of Higher Education in the Union Human Resource Development Ministry. According to UGC, India has 46 central universities.
  • State universities are run by the state government. According to UGC, India has 334 state universities.
  • Deemed university, or "Deemed to be University", is a status of autonomy granted by the Department of Higher Education on the advice of the UGC. According to UGC, India has 130 deemed universities.
  • Private universities are approved by the UGC. They can grant degrees but they are not allowed to have off-campus affiliated colleges. The UGC lists of 188 private universities in India
Showing 51 to 100 Total: 124

Stay connected with us on

Today: Jun 20, 2024