McGill University

McGill University is a public research university located in Montreal, Quebec, Canada. Founded in 1821 during the British colonial era, the university bears the name of James McGill, a prominent Montreal merchant from Glasgow, Scotland and alumnus of Glasgow University, whose bequest formed the beginning of the university. With 21 faculties and professional schools, McGill offers degrees and diplomas in over 300 fields of study, including cultural studies, medicine and law. McGill University has almost 215,000 living alumni worldwide. Notable alumni include nine Nobel Laureates, one hundred and thirty-five Rhodes Scholars, three astronauts, two Canadian prime ministers, twelve justices of the Canadian Supreme Court, four foreign leaders, twenty-eight foreign ambassadors, nine Academy Award winners, three Pulitzer Prize winners, and twenty-eight Olympic medalists. McGill alumni were instrumental in inventing or initially organizing football, basketball, and ice hockey. McGill is one of two member-universities of the Association of American Universities situated outside the United States.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *