About Australia

Australia is a country comprising the mainland of the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania, and numerous smaller islands. It is the world’s sixth-largest country by total area. Australia is officially the Commonwealth of Australia. Australia is the only nation to govern an entire continent. It is the earth’s biggest island and sixth-largest country in the world in land area, about the size of mainland United States and one and a half times the size of Europe.

Australia has many internationally recognized World Heritage sites, including the Great Barrier Reef, Uluru–Kata Tjuta National Park and the Sydney Opera House.

Australia has become the 3rd most preferred destination for foreign students.

National Symbols

The Australian flag:
The stars of the Southern Cross represent Australia’s geographic position in the Southern Hemisphere. The large Commonwealth star symbolizes the federation of the states and territories, and the Union Jack reflects Australia’s early ties to Great Britain.

National Colors:
Australia’s national colors are green and gold, the colors of our national floral emblem, the Golden Wattle

National day
Australia Day is celebrated every year on 26 January. The date commemorates the anniversary of the unfurling of the British flag at Sydney Cove in 1788.

National anthem
Advance Australia Fair has been Australia’s official national anthem since 19 April 1984.

Australians all let us rejoice,
For we are young and free;
We’ve golden soil and wealth for toil;
Our home is girt by sea;
Our land abounds in nature’s gifts
Of beauty rich and rare;
In history’s page, let every stage
Advance Australia Fair.

In joyful strains then let us sing,
Advance Australia Fair.
Beneath our radiant Southern Cross
We’ll toil with hearts and hands;
To make this Commonwealth of ours
Renowned of all the lands;
For those who’ve come across the seas
We’ve boundless plains to share;
With courage let us all combine
To Advance Australia Fair.
In joyful strains then let us sing,
Advance Australia Fair.

National holidays
Australia observes about 12 public holidays a year, including New Year’s Day, Australia Day and Anzac Day.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *