See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Political Science

Department of Political Science

The Department of Political Science was established on 18 September 1957 with the appointment of Dr.V.K.Sukumaran Nayar as Head of the Department. The Department of Politics was declared as a Department of Study and Research of the University with ex-officio membership in the Senate for the Head of the Department. A Board of Post-Graduate Studies in Politics was constituted with Dr. V.K.Sukumaran Nayar as Chairman and with the late Prof.R.Bhaskaran of Madras University, Dr.K.B.Y.Thotappa of Mysore University, Prof. J.Ramachandran of Presidency College(former Vice-Chancellor, Madurai University) the late Prof.K.P.Pillay (Professor of History and Politics of the University College and Professor of Politics of the S.N.College,Quilon) and the late Prof.V.Narayana Pillay(later on acting Vice-Chancellor of the Kerala University ) as members. The Board of Studies revised the courses of studies in Politics at the Post-Graduate level providing for specialisation in four branches, Political Theory, Comparative Politics, Public Administration and International Relations. The Department had conducted several summer institutes, workshops and seminars from the early period itself.


Stay connected with us on


Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course