Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi

See this page in HINDI >>

Department of Foreign Languages


Department of Foreign Languages
(Chinese, Japanese, Sinhalese, Russian, Italian, Spanish and Polish)

Established in 1961, the Department of Foreign Languages has the distinction of conducting different programmes in seven major languages of Asia and Europe namely Chinese, Japanese, Sinhalese, Russian, Italian, Spanish and Polish. In view of the present national policy of 'Look towards the East', the Chinese programme has been updated to provide a comprehensive understanding on China.

Since the inception of Spanish, Italian, Polish & Japanese programmes and subsequent progress made in this area, led to signing of MoUs between BHU and several foreign governments and universities under which the department has been receiving support in terms of provision of visiting teachers, didactic materials and award of scholarships.

Our students have been receiving good offers from MNCs and academic institutions. Besides, the department caters to the growing needs of the university community by offering part-time courses in these foreign languages.

Presently the Department has four permanent faculty members and six visiting foreign teachers. The department proposes to introduce Korean Language and revive B.A in Japanese with a view to develop East Asian Language and Studies programme.

Department of Foreign Languages
(Chinese, Japanese, Sinhalese, Russian, Italian, Spanish and Polish)
Banaras Hindu University
Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh


Stay connected with us on

Follow Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi

Subscribe to get alerts regularly in your inbox. You can cancel your subscriptions any time.

I want this institute to counsel me
Interested in studying at .
Fill the details for institute to counsel you.

Please provide name

Please provide Email

Please provide Mobile number

Please provide City

Please Select course